July 31, 2014, 07:00:27 PM
collapse

* Be informed

Enter your email address:


* Shoutbox!

Refresh History

* Who's Online

  • Dot Guests: 36
  • Dot Hidden: 0
  • Dot Users: 1
  • Dot Users Online:

Author Topic: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable  (Read 1966 times)

Offline Flangdoogler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Hey everyone, I'm having this problem with Dota 2 and Diablo III. Whenever I connect my approximately 15" laptop to my 24" monitor using an HDMI cable, it forces me to use a lower resolution in order for the game to not be laggy. When I use my laptop by itself, it can support the highest resolution which is like 1324 x 1024 or something like that, in addition to all the highest settings (except shadow), and the game looks perfect. However, when I connect it to my monitor, there are many more resolutions to choose from, the highest being 1924 x 1000 or something, but when I choose this resolution the game LOOKS like it does when I just use my laptop at the 1324 x 1024 (or something close to that) resolution but it plays much much slower and forces me to use a lower resolution such as 1024 x 800 in order for it to be playable at the cost of graphics. I'm just wondering because when I play other games on my laptop that's hooked up to my monitor the games I play look the exact same on the monitor as they do on the laptop and I'm not forced to use a lower resolution, such as HoN. But when I play dota 2 and Diablo 3, the graphics become shittier on my monitor because I am forced to use a lower resolution. I don't need or want a higher resolution supported by my monitor if using it only makes the game laggy and unplayable, I'd rather use the lower resolution of my laptop with the perfect graphics and have it displayed in that exact way onto the monitor, which is what happens with other games that I play, namely HoN. Do I need to configure my display settings in any way to get the exact image from my laptop onto my monitor? Or do I need to use a VGA cable instead of HDMI or something? Or is that I simply cannot have the same graphics displayed on my laptop (15") be copied exactly onto my monitor (24") due to graphics card reasons? This is what I thought at first but I can play HoN with the best graphics available on my monitor as well as my laptop. I'm not extremely tech-savvy so explaining my situation might sound a little confusing for some so I tried to explain it as best I could. Any help is appreciated, thanks. I just thought that using an HDMI cable should copy the exact image on my laptop onto my monitor as it does when I'm simply surfing the Internet or playing HoN.

Offline ShadowsCrush

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Entertain. Educate. Dominate.
    • View Profile
    • vVv Gaming
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2012, 10:22:22 PM »
Trying a standard VGA certainly wouldn't hurt for comparison, but in theory you aren't doing anything wrong.
The monitor, the laptop, and the graphics card all have their own native resolutions, but as you've stated you have other games that work just fine on the monitor.
I'm assuming you are having the monitor take the place of your laptop monitor, and not extending it as a secondary monitor


Offline Flangdoogler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2012, 11:00:26 PM »
Hmm, indeed I definitely intend for my monitor to take the place of my laptop monitor, but I'm not sure if it's SET as that, if there is a setting for that, that is. I don't want to extend it as a secondary monitor, that's for sure.

Offline ShadowsCrush

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Entertain. Educate. Dominate.
    • View Profile
    • vVv Gaming
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2012, 01:23:40 AM »
assuming you're on a windows machine you can switch it with Windows Key + P
normally it's used for projectors but it should have 4 choices there total

otherwise youll have to check through the usual display options
and the same would be true for your graphics card software, whether it supports multidisplay at that resolution and if you need to change it

nvidia's software is pretty straightforward for multimonitor, idk about ATI


Offline Flangdoogler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2012, 02:15:40 AM »
Alright, you mean the Display icon in the Control Panel for the usual display options right? Is there anything else I can mess around with to alter the display settings? Thanks again

Offline ShadowsCrush

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Entertain. Educate. Dominate.
    • View Profile
    • vVv Gaming
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2012, 02:23:51 AM »
Depends on your graphics card, do you have anything in your SysTray for nVidia or ATI?


Offline Flangdoogler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2012, 08:55:26 AM »
OPERATING SYSTEM:
Windows 2.6.1.7600
CPU TYPE:
Intel® Core™ i5 CPU M 480 @ 2.67GHz
CPU SPEED:
2.69 GHz
SYSTEM MEMORY:
3.8 GB
VIDEO CARD MODEL:
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 6370
VIDEO CARD MEMORY:
2.14 GB
VIDEO CARD DRIVER:
atiu9pag.dll
DESKTOP RESOLUTION:
1280x800
HARD DISK SIZE:
666.93 GB

Offline ShadowsCrush

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Entertain. Educate. Dominate.
    • View Profile
    • vVv Gaming
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2012, 08:59:31 AM »
so its an ati card but that didnt answer my question, do you have any software for it running that lets you change settings specific to the card


Offline Flangdoogler

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2012, 08:30:53 PM »
I'm pretty sure I don't, I haven't installed any kind of software that you're talking about.

Offline ShadowsCrush

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 853
  • Entertain. Educate. Dominate.
    • View Profile
    • vVv Gaming
Re: Resolution Issue when connecting Laptop to Monitor via HDMI cable
« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2012, 09:10:15 PM »
hm, never seen anything like this?


 


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal